Minnesota Multi-State Permit to Carry Class

Course Details:

The Minnesota Multi-State Permit to Carry Class is great for first time students as well as those looking to renew their permits! This class will cover all of the basic safety principals and laws regarding the Minnesota Personal Protection Act to safely and responsibly carry a firearm.

The Minnesota Permit to Carry class is a regulation class that covers the state requirements for a Permit to Carry. Although it is an instructional course, it is not a skill building course.

Following classroom instruction there is a live fire exercise where each student shoots 20-30 rounds at a man-sized target approximately 15 feet away. Both the classroom instruction and live fire exercise are completed in one class session.


Class Length: 3-4 hours
Prerequisites: None
Level: Beginner

Course Topics:

  • Basic safety principles
  • Proper shooting fundamentals
  • Anatomy of a firearm
  • Ethics
  • Home defense
  • Physiological and emotional effects of a lethal conflict
  • Defensive gun use
  • The threat and use of lethal force
  • Police encounters
  • Aftermath of a shooting
  • The permit itself and how to obtain it
  • Prohibited vs. banned from carry
  • Live fire exercise

Course Topics:

  • Handgun of any caliber (if you own one)
  • 1 box (30 rounds of non reloaded ammunition)
  • Eye and ear protection (provided for $5)
  • Valid I.D.
  • Receipt from online payment

Course Topics:

  • Guns and ammunition- please bring your own. If you don't have one a beginner pistol will be provided with ammunition .
  • We will supply at no charge: targets, class materials.
  • *Coming Soon* Multi-state permit upgrades are also available at checkout.

Which States Honor The Minnesota Permit to Carry?


Permit is Honored in: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin

Permit is Not Honored in: California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, New York City, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Texas, Virgin Islands, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming, American Samoa, N. Mariana Islands

** Coming soon!** Florida and Utah Multi-State permit upgrades are available at checkout. See which states honor the Florida and Utah Multi-State permits.